Bruxelles, Land of the Waffles and Home of the Pommes Frites

When I think of Belgium, I think of Dr. Evil in Goldmember and his Belgian heritage. So imagine my surprise when I arrived in Brussels with no roller discos or gold tracksuits to be found.

What I did find was much better. In case you haven’t picked up on this, I like food. I also have the taste preferences of a 4-year-old, but I’m improving. Enter Liege waffles and pommes frites. I pretty much struck gold. (Eh? Eh?)

img_9818.jpg

A tradition Belgian waffle served with mango/orange and strawberry jelly, Earl Grey tea and a Belgian chocolate

I won’t lie to you, I don’t have a photo of the pommes frites because I got too excited to eat them. I’m not that sorry about it.

In the 36 hours we spent in Belgium, I made it my goal to visit the Grand Place, which is an open square in the middle of town surrounded by shops and restaurants.

It’s hard to say whether the square was more beautiful in the evening or at sunset. Either way, I’m grateful to have seen it every light.

Thanks for reading! Until next time.

xoxo,
Julia

 

Leave a Reply

