Baile Átha Cliath – A.K.A. Dublin (A.K.A. My Favorite City in the World)

Upon landing in Ireland, I can’t say I wasn’t a little surprised that there were no little leprechauns running around and mumbling about pots of gold.

To be completely honest, I didn’t have any intention of visiting Ireland when I was planning this trip, but thanks to my sister, I stumbled upon the world’s greatest city.

Dublin is full of people with nothing but truly good intentions. Every person we met was extremely excited to meet two American girls, and even more curious about our Filipino heritage. We were met with a smile and a pint everywhere we went. Speaking of which, Guinness in Ireland is BEAUTIFUL. Guinness in the States is trash. I can only describe the texture as creamy, soft and reminiscent of the feeling you get inside a warm coffee shop in the winter. In other words, the U.S. needs to get it together.

If you asked me what my favorite part about Ireland was, it would be an absolutely unbreakable three-way tie between its people, its food and, of course, its beer.

All three points of this cultural trifecta intersected at a pub down the street from our AirBnB called Nancy Hands. Its owner Fran was a wonderful man who was willing to entertain two loud/confused American girls with stories about his life and tips for traveling in Ireland. We had a few (several) pints at his pub, as well as some DELICIOUS pub fare before heading to a bar called Pygmalion. Here, cocktails were the center of attention, and for good reason!

Aside from the nightlife, I fell in love with the Trinity College Library. Some of the oldest texts are housed here, which makes sense considering this university is one of the oldest in Europe.

img_9586

The Long Room, Trinity College

The Long Room is one of the most picturesque and moving sights I’ve encountered so far, and if I could do anything differently, I would spend more time here, just sitting and basking in the leather bound books. But that’s just me 🙂

Unfortunately, we had a plane to catch, so we had to speed through in less than 30 minutes. Not to worry, though, because I will MOST DEFINITELY be back to Dublin this semester. Keep a look out for the follow up blog!

Thank you for reading, and don’t forget to check out the SDSU Be International Blog. Follow this link to read my very first contribution to the Aztec blog! Until next time.

xoxo,
Julia

Leave a Reply

